letting go | a conversation with my Father |

At DAC, I learned a lot. I learned about budgeting, church, community, and I was forced to face my future; the big scary monster that I had been avoiding up until now.

But then in the midst of worship I heard God ask me: Will you give up everything for me?

Of course I said yes right away, but then He started being specific.

Would you give up your life? YES.

Your wealth? Yes.

Your privilege? Of course.

Your comfortability? Yeah, I can do that.

Your dreams? Sure…

Your parents? Wait…

Your friends? Just a minute…

The man you’re dating? What are you saying…

If I asked you to let it all go, if I asked you to put these things in my hands, if I asked you to give these things up… would you? And if you did give it all up, would you trust me, or would you begin to resent me? Would you continue to worship me, or will your song go silent? 

Silence, a pause, a sigh, falling to my knees.

Of course, God. Of course I would. If you take away my world, I will continue to sing your praises. Just please, please don’t leave me alone if you do ask me to do these things. I’m terrified, but I will follow you.

My daughter, when have I ever left you? I never have and I won’t start now. But let me have your heart, my beloved. I want to be at the forefront of your life. 

From the love of my own comfort
From the fear of having nothing
From a life of worldly passions
Deliver me O God

From the need to be understood
From the need to be accepted
From the fear of being lonely
Deliver me O God

And I shall not want, I shall not want
When I taste Your goodness I shall not want

From the fear of serving others
From the fear of death or trial
From the fear of humility
Deliver me O God

And I shall not want, I shall not want
When I taste Your goodness I shall not want

When I taste Your goodness I shall not want

-Audrey Assad
Leave a Reply

