Dear Connie,

I don’t think I have enough pretty words or expressions to tell you how much you’ve meant to me this year. But just know that you have impacted my life in ways not a lot of people have ever gotten the chance to.

I remember when we first started really interacting last semester at DIVE… when we were the only girls showing up. I was running away from a lot that year. I craved Christian community, so I went there, and I found you. In that time you heard a lot of my hurt, and you witnessed a lot of the pain I was going through… and in little ways you spoke into that and helped jumpstart my healing process. I can’t thank you enough for that.

This semester with you was the best. I knew we would get close but I didn’t realize how close. Firstly, you are one of the most beautiful people I’ve ever met. Really, just accept that. You’re gorgeous. Secondly, you’re hilarious. (I can’t believe how much I have laughed this year because of you). Thirdly, your advice is the best. Really it is. I used to be the type of person that never really asked people to speak into my life… but having you there to tell me the hard things, affirm me, and open my eyes to the things I didn’t want to see has been so life giving. I really can’t thank you enough, Conn.

From failed workouts, to failed cooking (but only “failed” when you weren’t around to fix the mess), to doing girly things, to laughing at your ridiculous but logical business/relationship analogies… I have had the best of times. You are one of the best people that this world has the privilege witnessing. I am so blessed to have you here in my life.

Connie Lim, I am going to miss you this next year. Yeah, we can Skype, yeah we can visit, yeah we can call… but these things won’t make up for the times where I can just walk in your house and sleep on your couch because I’m tired. It won’t replace the moments where I’ve walked into your room to wake you up, make you breakfast, and drive you to class. You have become such an integral part of my community. I cannot wait to see where we go from here.

In case you ever forget. You deserve the best, Connie. Don’t settle. Don’t tie yourself down in places just because you’re comfortable. Take your own great advice that you so freely give… you deserve it. You deserve all the best that God has to offer, really.

I LOVE YOU, CONNIE LIM. You are scored on my heart. I’ll be seeing you.

With all the love I have and more,

Rebecca Jean Verona (Wifey <3)

-Soli Deo Gloria

P.S. You owe me a drink. YOU KNOW WHAT KIND OF DRINK.

P.P.S. Take me out on a date, okay? Connie style.

P.P.P.S. You’re still going to be a part of my wedding party, okay? I’m serious about that.

Leave a Reply

