why “courage, dearest heart”?

Well, firstly… because “courage, dear heart” the original quote, was already taken. So I had to adjust.

But the quote is from Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis (click HERE to read the passage). But essentially, in the midst of a being lost at sea, Aslan whispers to Lucy in her darkest time after she cries out to him.

But no one except Lucy knew that as it circled the mast it had whispered to her, “Courage, dear heart,” and the voice, she felt sure, was Aslan’s, and with the voice a delicious smell breathed in her face.

Oh, how my heart yearns for that. How my dry and parched bones long to hear the whispers of her Savior speaking to her in her time of need. I’m in a season of gasping for air because of the fear that has paralyzed my soul. I’m in a time where uncertainty and heartache have made their bed in my home. I’ve been knocked down, and trodden upon. I’ve been pulled down by life, and good grief. Good grief it has been a painful, painful time.

So as I sit in the ashes of this broken life of mine, I wearily press forward. Inch by inch, I will wade through the mess as I whisper God’s promises to me over and over again.

He will keep His covenant.

He will never leave me or forsake me. 

He gives me strength, and will not let me grow weak or weary.

He will be with me, no matter where I go.

He forgives me.

He restores me.

And on and on, His promises go.

I grit my teeth and tears stream down my face. I move past death. I sidle beside betrayal. I brush past hurt. I step over broken dreams. I run past temptations. I push away anger. I kick aside pride. I swim through disappointment… And all the while I hear Him whisper, tenderly, lovingly, intimately:

“Fear not, for I am with you. Courage. Courage, dearest heart”.

So yeah. Yeah, life sucks. But, I have a God who cares. Who sits with me as I lament. I have a God who turns my mourning into dancing in His time. I have a God who puts a smile on my face in the darkest of times. I have a God who asks for my hopes and dreams. I have a God who gives me peace that surpasses all understanding.

Oh, what a strange and frail life we live. But I’m learning it’s all worth living.

In a few moments the darkness turned into a greyness ahead, and then, almost before they dared to begin hoping, they had shot out into the sunlight and were in the warm, blue world again. And all at once everybody realized that there was nothing to be afraid of and never had been. They blinked their eyes and looked about them. The brightness of the ship herself astonished them: they had half expected to find that the darkness would cling to the white and the green and the gold in the form of some grime or scum. And then first one, and then another, began laughing.

-Soli Deo Gloria

Leave a Reply

